About the Pacific Arts Association

Aims

The Pacific Arts Association is an international organization devoted to the study of the arts of Oceania. Its goals are:

  1. To make members more aware of the state of all the arts in all parts of Oceania.
  2. To encourage international understanding among the nations involved in the arts of Oceania.
  3. To promote high standards of research, interpretation and reporting on the arts of Oceania.
  4. To stimulate more interest in the teaching of courses on Oceanic art especially but not only at the tertiary educational level.
  5. To encourage greater cooperation among the institutions and individuals who are associated with the arts of Oceania.
  6. To encourage high standards of conservation and preservation of the material culture in and of Oceanic arts.

 

     CURRENT PACIFIC ARTS ASSOCIATION OFFICERS

 

Pacific Arts Association (PAA)
Executive Committee

 

President

Karen Stevenson  

ks-kf@xtra.co.nz


Vice-President, Chair, Europe

Wonu Veys

wonu.veys@wereldculturen.nl

Vice-President, Chair, Pacific

Lisa McDonald, Canterbury Museum

lmcdonald@canterburymuseum.com


Vice-President, Chair, North America
Carol Mayer
carol.mayer@ubc.ca

 

Treasurer

Henry Skerritt

hfs4f@virginia.edu

 

Secretary

Caroline Vercoe

c.vercoe@auckland.ac.nz

 

Journal Editor

Anne Allen

aeallen@ius.edu

 

Information Manager and Webmaster

Caroline Vercoe and Marion Cadora

c.vercoe@auckland.ac.nz

 

Newsletter Editors

Jacqueline Charles-Rault

jacqueline.charles-rault@univ-lehavre.fr

 

Crispin Howarth

Crispin.Howarth@nga.gov.au

 

Pacific Representative

Tarisi Vunidilo

tarisi.vunidilo@gmail.com

 

PAA at CAA Liaison

Bernida Webb-Binder

baw78@cornell.edu


Pacific Arts Association-Europe (PAA-E)
Executive Committee

President

Wonu Veys, Nationaal Museum van Wereldculturen, the Netherlands
wonu.veys@wereldculturen.nl

Vice-President

Anita Herle

ach13@cam.ac.uk

Secretary

Dorothea Deterts, Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin

d.deterts@smb.spk-berlin.de

Treasurer

Roberta Colombo Dougoud, Musée d'Ethnographie, Geneva

roberta.colombo@ville-ge.ch